Inicio > múSica > Cole Porter

Cole Porter


Tal día como hoy nacía Cole Porter, un inmenso compositor de canciones y uno de mis más admirados. Nacido en 1891, escribió varias de las más bellas canciones, y mejor construidas, de las que tengo noticia.

Sirva este pequeño homenaje para reivindicar su grandioso legado…….

George, en 1976, versioneando al maestro en su tema “True Love”, un tema que apareció en la película “High Society” de 1956, interpretada por la adorable Grace Kelly

I give to you and you give to me,
True love, true love.
So on and on it will always be,
True love, true love.
For you and I have a guardian angel
On high with nothing to do,
But to give to you and to give to me,
Love forever true.

For you and I have a guardian angel
On high, with nothing to do
But to give to you and to give to me
Love forever true
Love forever true.

Lena Horne interpreta “At Long Last Love”, popularizada en su momento por Frank Sinatra

Is it an earthquake or simply a shock?
Is it the good turtle soup or merely the mock?
Is it a cocktail, this feeling of joy?
Or is what I feel the real McCoy?

Is it for all time or simply a lark?
Is it Granada I see or only Asbury Park?
Is it a fancy not worth thinking of?
Or is it at long last love?

Is it an earthquake, or simply a shock?
Is it the good turtle soup, or is it merely the mock?
Is it a cocktail, this feeling of joy?
Or is what I feel the real McCoy?

Is it for all time or simply a lark?
Is it Granada I see or only Asbury Park?
Is it a fancy, not worth thinking of?
Or is it at long long long last love?

y, por último, David Byrne rindiendo su tributo con este gran vídeo de este genial tema “Don’t Fence Me In”, del que la dama Ella Fitzgerald realizó su particular y estremecedora versión

Wildcat Kelley, lookin’ mighty pale,
Was standin’ by the sherrif’s side
And when the sherrif said “I’m sendin you to jail,
Wildcat raised his head and cried

Oh, give me land, lots of land under starry skies above,
Don’t fence me in.
Let me ride through the wide open country that I love,
Don’t fence me in.
Let me be by myself in the evenin’ breeze,
listen to the murmur of the cottonwood trees,
Send me off forever but I ask you please,
Don’t fence me in.

Just turn me loose, let me straddle my old saddle
Underneath the western skies.
On my Cayuse, let me wander over yonder
Till I see the mountains rise.

I want to ride to the ridge where the west commences
gaze at the moon till I lose my senses
I can’t look at hobbles and I can’t stand fences
Don’t fence me in.

Wildcat Kelley, back again in town,
was standin by his sweethearts side,
And when his sweetheart said “come on let’s settle down,
Wildcat raised his head and cried

Oh, give me land, lots of land under starry skies,
Don’t fence me in.
Let me ride through the wide open country that I love,
Don’t fence me in.
Let me be by myself in the evenin’ breeze
listen to the murmur of the cottonwood trees
Send me off forever but I ask you please,
Don’t fence me in

Just turn me loose, let me straddle my old saddle
Underneath the western skies
On my Cayuse, let me wander over yonder
Till I see the mountains rise.

I want to ride to the ridge where the west commences
gaze at the moon till I lose my senses
I can’t look at hobbles and I can’t stand fences
Don’t….. fence me in.

Categorías:múSica
  1. efi
    junio 11, 2010 a las 9:30 am

    true love fences nobody in…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Responder

